Directors and Districts

Who Represents the LCP Membership

Lake Country Power is an electric cooperative and is governed by a policy-making board of nine directors. Each director serves a term of three years. These directors are elected by members voting through a balloted election within their respective district. Results of the elections are announced at the annual meeting. 

The co-op’s board of directors is responsible for establishing Lake Country Power’s basic policies, goals and strategies. The board hires a manager to carry out these policies, strategies and the day-to-day operations of the cooperative. 

If you are interested in serving on Lake Country Power’s board of directors, you may receive a nomination packet when your respective district is up for election. Lake Country Power’s monthly newsletter, Newsline, announces when the nomination process begins.    

Meet Lake Country Power's Board of Directors:

View map (PDF) of Lake Country Power's nine district locations within northern Minnesota.

Jason Long
District 1
8849 Beatty Road
Cook, MN 55723


Michael D. Forsman
District 2
1423 East Harvey Street
Ely, MN 55731

George Harvey, Secretary
District 3
7407 Comfort Point Road
Britt, MN 55710


Craig Carlson
District 4

25439 Piquant Way
Cohasset, MN 55721


Robert Bruckbauer
District 5
7267 Lakeside Park Drive NE
Remer, MN 56672


Dan Kingsley
District 6
349 Summit Avenue NE
Hill City, MN 55748

Craig D. Olson, President 
District 7 
8072 Swan Lake Road  
Culver, MN 55779

Jim Huhta 
District 8

2251 Holm Road
Cromwell, MN 55726


Sherman Liimatainen, Vice President
District 9
378 W St. Louis River Road
Cloquet, MN 55720


Monthly Board Meetings
Lake Country Power’s nine-member board of directors and staff meet once a month at 9:30 a.m. The board meetings are open for members to attend and are scheduled at Lake Country Power’s service centers on a rotating basis. Members are given an opportunity to speak at the beginning of the meeting and at the end of the meeting. If you are interested in attending a board meeting, call 1-800-421-9959 for more information.

2019 Board Meeting Dates

January 29, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Grand Rapids
February 26, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Kettle River
March 21, 2019 – Thursday 9:30 a.m. Mountain Iron
April 23, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Grand Rapids
May 28, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Kettle River
June 25, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Mountain Iron
July 29, 2019 – Monday 9:30 a.m. Grand Rapids
August 27, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Kettle River
September 24, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Mountain Iron
October 29, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Grand Rapids
November 26, 2019 – Tuesday 9:30 a.m. Kettle River
December 18, 2019 – Wednesday 9:30 a.m. Mountain Iron